Crystallized Honey Fix

In the north people have an issue with honey that I never had in the south. My brother-in-law complained that his honey got all thick and crystallized and did not know why it was happening. At the time, I did not have a clue about what was happening because mine was always good to the last drizzle. I, however, recently moved to the north where he lives and now I get it. Our honey crystallizes because of the temperature. In the south our homes stay warmer, between 70 and 80 degrees on average. In the north our homes are much cooler, between 60 and 70 on average.

The Fix:

I can no longer keep my honey in the plastic containers that it comes in. I purchased a glass container to refill when I buy it. Then I purchased a coffee cup/candle warmer. All I have to do is turn it on and warm up the bottle till it is clear again. Once clear, I turn off the warmer and this will usually last several days if the jar is full, less days the more empty it gets.

After searching and searching, I was lucky enough to find this perfectly, awesome bottle at a local apple orchard that sold honey as well.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

